Ecological Restoration in Mediterranean-Type Shrublands and Woodlands

Authored by: Ladislav Mucina , Marcela A. Bustamante-Sánchez , Beatriz Duguy Pedra , Patricia Holmes , Todd Keeler-Wolf , Juan J. Armesto , Mark Dobrowolski , Mirijam Gaertner , Cecilia Smith-Ramírez , Alberto Vilagrosa

Routledge Handbook of Ecological and Environmental Restoration

Print publication date:  May  2017
Online publication date:  May  2017

Print ISBN: 9781138922129
eBook ISBN: 9781315685977
Adobe ISBN:


 Download Chapter



The Mediterranean-type ecosystems (further MTEs) are limited to five regions on Earth (Cowling et al. 1996): Mediterranean Basin, California, Central Chile, the Cape of South Africa and the Southwest (and partly South) Australia. These regions are characteristic of western ocean coastlines in warm-temperate latitudes characterized by descending water-deprived ethesial winds. They are invariably transitional between temperate forests and semi-deserts. Precipitation seasonality and prevalence of winter-rainfall/summer drought cycling are regular, although not exclusive to the MTEs (Blumler 2005; Rebelo et al. 2006). Fire has been part of the natural regeneration cycles and undoubtedly also evolutionary history of the scrublands and woodlands (perhaps except for the Chilean MTE) for millions of years. The Northern Hemisphere MTEs and the Central Chilean MTE are home to relatively young geologically and climatically dynamic landscapes. The MTEs of the African Cape and Australia are, on the other hand, geologically quiescent and climatically buffered – most of these regions qualify as Old Stable Landscapes (Hopper 2009; Mucina and Wardell-Johnson 2011).

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.