Women economists of promise?

Six Hart, Schaffner and Marx Prize winners in the early twentieth century 1

Authored by: Kirsten Madden

The Routledge Handbook of the History of Women’s Economic Thought

Print publication date:  September  2018
Online publication date:  September  2018

Print ISBN: 9781138852341
eBook ISBN: 9781315723570
Adobe ISBN:


 Download Chapter



Fifty-three monographs with publication dates between 1907 and 1932 received the Hart, Schaffner, and Marx Prize in the U.S.A. In the opinion of a 1929 book reviewer:

The cult of competitions is widespread today, but few of the winning plays, poems, and plans for peace, prosperity or prohibition have won much approval. In one field, however, a competition has thoroughly justified its existence, for the Hart, Schaffner and Marx Prize Essays have consistently, during the last twenty years, been valuable contributions to economic literature, and many of their authors have subsequently stepped to the very front of the academic field. 2

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.